Report of the IBAME Award Committee

Committee members: Stewart Campbell, Jean-Marc Greneche, Göstar Klingelhöfer, Michael Reissner, Ralf Röhlsberger (Chair).

In August 2018 a call for nominations for the IBAME Science Award and the IBAME Young Scientist Award reached all IBAME members with deadline 24 September 2018.

For the IBAME Science Award five nominations have been received, for the IBAME Young Scientist Award the committee received three nominations.

From these nominations that all had arrived within the deadline, the Award committee unanimously selected the following candidates to receive the respective awards:

The IBAME Science Award 2019 goes to:

Esen Ercan Alp, Argonne National Laboratory, USA

for his outstanding contributions to the development of synchrotron radiation techniques and their scientific applications based on the Mössbauer effect.

Israel Nowik, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

for his numerous outstanding contributions to science, especially to magnetism and solid state physics, based on the applications of the Mössbauer effect.

The IBAME Young Scientist Award 2019 goes to:

Li Xuning, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

for his outstanding contributions to the study of catalytic processes and nanomaterials using the Mössbauer effect.

Makina Saito, Kyoto University, Japan

for his outstanding contributions to the study of slow dynamics in condensed matter via nuclear resonant scattering of synchrotron radiation.

Ralf Röhlsberger

Hamburg, 10 August 2019