The Department of Foundations of Economic Analysis II of the Faculty of Economics and Business Studies at the University of the Basque Country continues its activity with the aim of excellence in teaching and research activities.

The Department is currently formed by 11 tenured professors, 5 doctor professors, 8 non-doctor professors, 3 doctor researchers, 5 predoctoral fellowship holders who hold a teaching and research experience so recognized by the CNEAI. It all allows us to carry on a stable and promising research activity.

From the stand point of research, the Department hosts 2 consolidated research groups. MacLab team, participated by 19 researchers, focuses its research activity on Macroeconomics and Labor Market. More detailed information can be accessed at Additionally, GREMLIN-G team, focusing its activity on Industrial Organization issues, is formed by 13 research members.

The Department currently organizes two Master's Research Programs. The Master in Economics: Empirical Applications and Policies which is taught in English, and its supervisor is Professor Sara de la Rica. All information can be accessed at The Master Interuniversitario en Banca y Finanzas Cuantitativas which is jointly organized by the University of the Basque Country, the University of Castilla la Mancha and the University of Valencia, and its supervisor is Professor Miguel Ángel Martínez. All information can be accessed at

Both Master's Programs give access to Ph. D. Programs under identical names, where both of them have been awarded the Quality Award by the Spanish Ministry of Science.

Professor Jesús Vázquez is the Chairman of the Department and Professor Arantza Gorostiaga is the Academic Secretary of the Department.