Menu Toggle site navigation

Titulo - Profesorado

Teaching staff

XSL Content


Knowledge area
Mechanical Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Faculty of Engineering - Bilbao
Electronic mail

Mechanical Engineer and PhD in Mech Eng (1983). Professor since 1992. Head of the Mechanical Engineering Department of the UPV / EHU until 2006. Author of publications on noise and specifically on railway noise and its mechanical sources in wheel-rail contact. Since 1988 he has collaborated mainly with Euskotren, with Euskal Trenbide Sarea - Basque Railway Network (ETS-RFV) and with various engineering companies in research projects on railway noise and its suppression. He was the leader of the Transportation Environmental Safety and Impact Program, Science, Technology and Society Plan (2005-2008) and member of the Transport Panel that designs the National Science and Technology Strategy and the National R & D Plan 2008 -2011. Founding member of the European network of excellence in railway research, EURNEX. Member of the Permanent Academia Group of the European Railway Research Advisory Council (ERRAC). Member of the European Research Network Railenium2020. Advisor to the European Parliament regarding the 4th Railway Package, on interoperability, safety and new responsibilities for the European Railway Agency. Member of the Board of Directors of ETS-RFV (2004-2005 and 2013-2020). His work team was awarded the V TALGO Technological Research Prize, for the development of a model to prevent the appearance of a short wave corrugation on rails and the suppression of that rolling noise source.