The Institute for Logic, Cognition, Language and Information is an institute of the University of the Basque Country . It was made official by the Basque Government on May 31st, 1999. (BOPV n. 101.) The 1st article of the Statute of the Institute states clearly its working field: it is a philosophical, scientific and technical research center to further multidisciplinary research in the fields of language, cognition, information and communication, through the integration of theories and methods mostly from logic, mathematics, linguistics, psychology, philosophy, computer science and artificial intelligence.
The goals of the Institute are stated in detail in the 2nd article of the Statute. We can say that its main aim is to join together researchers working in the fields mentioned above and integrate them in common projects. Particularly, philosophers, logicians, linguists, psychologists, mathematicians, artificial intelligence scientists and also social theoreticians on knowledge. In fact, the analysis of language-cognition-information cannot be done without the collaborative effort of many specialists and experts. Therefore, this Institute is from the beginning an interdisciplinary center, and its everyday work reflects it.
The academic opening of the Institute was on December 9th, 1993, with a lecture by Nicholas Asher (Austin, Texas) on Nonmonotonicity: a tool for discourse interpretation.
The Institute was located, from 1993 to 2011, in a wonderful villa in Donostia called "Villa Asunción", and in September 2011 we moved to a new building.
Address: ILCLI. UPV/EHU. Carlos Santamaria Zentroa. Elhuyar Plaza 2. 20018. Donostia
Tel.: +34 943 017451. Fax: +34 943 017430
Framework Regulation University Research Institutes  (text in Basque pdf /text in Spanish pdf)
ILCLI's Statutes (text in Basque pdf /text in Spanish pdf)

Annual Report 2012  (pdf, 367 KB)

Director of the Institute: Prof. Jesus Ezquerro, Full Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Science
Academic Secretary: Dr Alain Ulazia
Administrative: Josu Martínez Díez
Research Ethics Committee
Chair: Prof. Jesus Ezquerro, PhD Philosophy, Full Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Science.
Secretary: Mr. Aitor Izagirre, B. Phil., Master in Language, Cognition, Action, and Mind Studies.
Members: Dr. Mikel Haranburu, PhD Education Sciences; Dr. Pello Huizi, PhD Psychology; Dr. Alain Ulazia, PhD Cognitive Science and Humanities.