Documentos de Arqueología Medieval

Documentos de Arqueología Medieval



1. Collection guiderlines

This collection of monographs aims to publish studies, theses or excavation reports in the field of Archeology and Postclassic History according to quality criteria.

All published texts have been reviewed by external reviewers following protocols in use in the indexed journals. Texts are accepted in different languages (Basque, Spanish, English, French, Portuguese, Italian and German), and only previously unpublished works will be published. It is considered essential that the issues dealt with should be approached from a comparative European perspective. 

Papers must be original and must include a statement declaring that the text has not been submitted for evaluation and publication in any other series or editorial collections either simultaneously or previously.

2. Start date


3. Director

Juan Antonio Quirós Castillo

University Professor in the University of the Basque Country / Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea, specialising in Mediterranean Archeology, Medieval Archeology, the Archeology of Architecture, Social Archeology and Cultural Landscapes.

He has previously worked at the University of Sienna, the University of Pisa and the CSIC. He is currently an associate researcher at the Institute of Archeology at University College London. 

Head of the Research Group on Heritage and Cultural Landscapes / Ondare eta Kultur Paisaietan Ikerketa Taldea of the Basque University System. 

He is the author of numerous books and articles. He has led approximately fifty research projects and currently coordinates two European Marie Curie projects (ARCHIMEDE, EARMEDCASTILE), a research project of the National R&D&I Plan (DESPAMED, HUM 2012-32514) and participates as Researcher at ERC AdvGrant n-EU-MED led by R. Hodges.  He has also headed several archaeological projects in France, Italy and Spain. He has supervised 9 doctoral theses and 4 TFM, and currently supervises 10 other theses.

He is a member of the editorial committee of several magazines and collections.

He has had three periods of recognised research, the last one being from 2008 to 2013.

More information:

Personal web page


4. Committees

4.1. Editorial Committee

Juan Antonio Quirós Castillo (University of the Basque Country)

Julio Escalona Monge (Spanish National Research Council, Madrid)

Iñaki Martín Viso (University of  Salamanca)

Margarita Fernández Mier (University of Oviedo)

4.2. Scientific Committee

Alberto García Porras (University of Granada)

Alejandro García Sanjuán (University of Huelva)

Alfonso Vigil-Escalera Guirado (University of the Basque Country)

  •         Academia        

Andrew Reynolds (University College of London)

Catarina Tente (Universidade Nova de Lisboa)

Giovanna Bianchi (Università degli Studi di Siena)

Helena Catarino (Universidade de Coimbra)

Helena Kirchner Granell (Autonomous University of Barcelona)

Igor Santos Salazar (Università degli Studi di Trento)

Iñaki Martín Viso (University of Salamanca)

Jorge Alejandro Eiroa Rodríguez (University of Murcia)

José Avelino Gutiérrez González (University of Oviedo)

Juan Carlos Castillo Armenteros (University of Jaén)

Julio Escalona Monge (Spanish National Research Council, Madrid)

Margarita Fernández Mier (University of Oviedo)

Olatz Villanueva Zubizarreta (University of Valladolid)

Santiago Castellanos (University of León)


4.3. Functions

A distinction is made between an editorial Committee consisting of the director and three members of the scientific Committee, and the scientific Committee currently composed of seventeen European researchers.  The role of the Scientific Committee is to obtain new texts, disseminate the collection, propose evaluators and contribute to define the editorial policy of the Collection. 

The editorial Committee has a more executive role since it is responsible for carrying out a first revision of the manuscripts, planning the processes of evaluation of the originals, checking compliance with the formal requirements of the collection, maintaining communication with authors and reviewers, as well as developing the editorial policy of the Collection defined in collaboration with the scientific Committee.

5. Instructions for authors submitting original manuscripts

6. Information on the manuscript selection process

Papers must be original and must include a statement declaring that the text has not been submitted for evaluation and/or publication in any other series or editorial collections either simultaneously or previously.

Original works must be submitted to Juan Antonio Quirós Castillo, Department of Geography, Prehistory and Archeology, Faculty of Arts, UPV-EHU, C/Francisco Tomás y Valiente s/n, 01006 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain.  Submissions must include one hard copy and one copy on CD. They will be preceded by a sheet with the title of the work, the name of the author(s), address, telephone, e-mail and the name of the scientific institution to which they belong. At the same time, a copy must be sent in electronic format to the address

The Editorial Committee will decide its publication within a period not exceeding six months.  The texts will be evaluated by two anonymous and independent evaluators selected by the editorial Committee and/or the Advisory Committee, who will judge the suitability of their publication and, where appropriate, establish recommendations or indications. The anonymity of the evaluators will be maintained and the decision to publish the volume may be conditioned by the modifications made to the original text according to the criteria of the evaluators and the editorial Committee, and/or the scientific Committee. The management of the Editorial Committee will inform the author(s) about the final acceptance for publication of the work.

In the event that the two evaluations are positive, the work will be accepted for publication; In the event of disagreements, a third evaluation will be requested.

7. Titles of this collection