The Department of Journalism at the UPV-EHU is located within the Faculty of Social Science and Communication at the Leioa Campus, and is responsible for teaching different subjects related to the world of information in different degrees in Journalism, Audiovisual Communication, Advertising and Public Relations. The Department is also the co-organizer of the MA in "Research in Social Communication" and "Multimedia Komunikazioa"- the latter in collaboration with EITB.
The Department is made up of around twenty lecturers, different research fellows and an administrative secretary's office. Apart from teaching, it also promotes research into different areas of information and communication.