Higher Education in Europe

The European Higher Education configuration, adopted by over 45 countries, is known as the Bologna System; among its main features lie:

  •  Bachelor´s Degree + Master + PhD studies structure
  • In Spain, every Bachelor´s Degree consists of 240 ECTS credits, i.e. 4 years of study; 60 to 120 ECTS of master programmes, i.e. 12 to 24 months.
  • Access to PhD studies gained upon completion of a master course

The European Credit Transfer System allows syllabi to be easily recognized. The University of the Basque Country applies the IKD (Cooperative and Dynamic learning) method. This student-centered didactics is based on active learning methodologies and enhances both personal and academic skills within trainees.