Textos Clásicos del Pensamiento Político y Social en el País Vasco

1. Collection guiderlines

The objective of this collection is to recover and make available some of the most significant intellectual works on various political and social issues including: administration, institutions and public powers, constitutionalism and parliamentarianism, ideologies, forms of government, legal and political debates, etc., that were written by Basque authors (or that deal with matters directly related to the Basque Country) throughout history, especially during the last centuries. The selection and processing of the texts comprising the collection, books, brochures, press articles, even sometimes unpublished texts, will be made and has always been made from a rigorously technical point of view, oblivious to all bias, open to all hermeneutics and any of the currently accepted methodological trends in the academic world. From the viewpoint of the chronological period covered by the collection, the proposed texts must have been written before the 1960s.

2. Start date


3. Director

4. Scientific Committee

4.2. Functions

The main duty of the board is to propose new titles and advise the director on anything relating to the works and authors agreed to be included in the collection. There is a Technical Committee that meets annually to decide on the next publications.

5. Instructions for authors submitting original manuscripts

The length can vary considerably for each work depending on its characteristics. Proposals of very different kinds will be accepted, provided that the editors consider them interesting enough to publish. With regard to the introductory study for each work, and although exceptions to the rule may be accepted at this point, the advisable length would range between a minimum of 50 pages and a maximum of 100.

Once approved by the board and the assessors, the author/editor will be responsible for editing the original texts, which will include a bibliography or list of sources, as well as any notes deemed necessary for the proper understanding of the text in its historical context. It is advisable that  exchanges of documents with the editorial service are made by electronic means. Throughout the phase prior to correcting the first checks, the text files will preferably be in Word.

6. Information on the manuscript selection process

The collection management, with the advice of the Technical Committee and possibly the other members of the Board, proposes texts for publication and receives suggestions from potential authors/editors.

Once adopted by the Technical Committee, which meets regularly during the last quarter of the year to decide on its interest or which book to publish, the management entrusts the editing of the work to a competent academic, researcher or specialist in the area, ideology or the author in question. This process usually takes approximately one year.

The original (which includes both the introductory study and the work, or collection of small works to be re-edited) is sent to two external assessors from a possible list proposed by the director, with the assistance of the board or Technical Committee. Once the assessment reports have been received by the Editorial Service (under the double-blind peer review system), and provided that these reports advise that the work be published, the director of the collection will get in touch with the Editorial Service to send the assessments to the author so that they can make the advised corrections before final approval.

7. Titles of this collection