Brief history


The Faculty of Sciences (today the Faculty of Science and Technology) opened its doors in 1968 when Professor Dr Justo Mañas Diaz was commissioned by the Ministry of Education and Science to organise a Faculty of Chemistry within the recently opened Autonomous University of Bilbao.
Initially housed in the former Nautical School, alongside Deusto Bridge, it moved into its current premises in the Leioa Campus at the beginning of the 1971-72 school year.

Right from the very beginning the Centre set about increasing the areas taught until including all five classic Natural Science branches, i.e.: Biology, Physics, Geology, Mathematics and Chemistry. The 1968-69 school year was initially common to all of these subjects, proceeding to diversify and shape the corresponding Undergraduate Degrees in the following years. Later, by now part of the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU), the Faculty increased the number of degrees available to include studies in 9 scientific and technological areas: Biology, Biochemistry, Environmental Sciences, Physics, Geology, Electronic Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Mathematics and Chemistry and a Double Degree in Physics and Electronic Engineering.

Today the Faculty of Science and Technology has adapted its studies to the European Higher Education Area (EHEA), offering nine Undergraduate Degree courses: Engineering Undergraduate Degrees: Electronic Engineering and Chemical Engineering.
Science Undergraduate Degrees: Biology, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Physics, Geology, Mathematics and Chemistry.

Since 2014-15 school year, a Double Degree in Physics and Electronic Engineering is offered. Other Degrees such as the Degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the Degree in Biotechnology could merge to a new double degree.

The offer of Undergraduate Degree courses at the Centre is rounded off with a wide selection of Masters courses falling within the corresponding Official Postgraduate Programmes and two Own Masters.

Located alongside the main University departments, such as the Central Library, with its Documentation and Reference section, the Computer Centre, the Main Lecture Hall, the Rector's Office and the other Faculties making up the Leioa Campus, the Faculty of Science and Technology offers students and researchers an excellent human team and the technological means to guarantee all-round, quality education.


Since its foundation, the Deans past and present to have governed Faculty are, in chronological order:

  1. Mr Justo Mañas Díaz (1968-1973)
  2. Mr Mariano Mellado Rodríguez (1973-1976)
  3. Mr Antonio Bernalte Miralles (1976-1979)
  4. Mr José María Amigó Descarrega (1979-1981)
  5. Mr José Antonio Madariaga Zamacona (1981-1988)
  6. Mr Leonardo Lorente Fernández (1988-1994)
  7. Mr Mauel J. Tello León (1994-2000)
  8. Mr Juan Ramón González Velasco (2000-2007)
  9. Ms Esther Domínguez Pédrez (2007-2018)
  10. Mr Fernando Plazaola Muguruza (2018-...)