Research Groups

General Information

Fostering research and development is one of the cornerstones of university activity. Therefore, it is necessary to provide the key actors with tools to perform various research programs. Given the variety of situations that may occur in the different research groups and different work areas, it is suitable for the tools provided to the research community to be broad enough to place the different groups in a position allowing them to meet to the highest extent possible the most demanding and competitive research requests.

Research groups, therefore, are the natural unit for performing research activities. The maturity of these groups and their high recognition in the scientific and technological community have developed a backbone of research-oriented projects focusing both on single and multidisciplinary knowledge areas.


The Research Groups at the Lascaray Research Center


List of Center's Research Groups :


Group Principal Investigator
Microfluidics & BIOMICs cluster UPV/EHU  Lourdes Basabe; Miriam Baeta; Iñigo Olalde
Cardiac Electrophysiology Oscar Casis
Campilobacter & Arcobacter Molecular Epidemiology Irati Martínez Malax-Echevarria; Ilargi Martínez
Pharmacokinetics, Nanotechnology and Gene Therapy (PharmaNanoGene)  Alicia Rodríguez Gascón
Organic Synthesis in medicinal chemistry Concepción Alonso
Lactiker - Quality and Safety of Foods of Animal Origin Luis Javier Rodríguez Barrón
NanoBioCel  José Luis Pedraz; Rosa Hernández 
Cellular and Molecular Neuropharmacology  Joan Sallés
Nutrition and Obesity María Puy Portillo
Parasitology and Immunoallergy Idoia Postigo
Food Processing, Quality and Safety Patricia Sopelana
Population Systematics, Biogeography and Dynamics (SystBioGen)  Benjamín Gómez