Menu Toggle site navigation




The Faculty of Chemistry was created in 1973 and its first premises were situated in what was then Escuela Profesional Juan XXIII in the historical centre of Alza. At that time, the Faculty belonged to the University of Valladolid and specialised in Petrochemicals. The Centre was started up by Professor Gonzalo Martín Guzmán, a chemist of great prestige in the field of polymer science and technology. Later, in September 1979, the district of the University of Bilbao (now Universidad del País Vasco/Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea) was created and took in the public university centres in Guipúzcoa, including this Faculty.
In 1983, the Centre taught two specialities: Macromolecules, focused mainly on polymer science and technology; and Fundamental Chemistry as a more general subject. In 1987, the Faculty was moved from Alza to its present building on the University Campus of Ibaeta. Today, in an area covering more than 12,000 m2, with three departments, a staff of 87 lecturers, 375 students and an abundance of scientific production, the Faculty of Chemistry of San Sebastián is a place for teaching and research of recognised regional, national and international prestige. It covers a wide range of fields of knowledge ranging from basic science to materials technology.

  • The year 2003 saw the launch of the new curriculum for the Degree
  • In the academic year 2010/2011, the "Degree in Chemistry" was started up to adapt the studies to the European Higher Education Area (EHEA).
  • In the academic year 2019/2020 the following University Master's were attached to the Faculty of Chemistry:
  1. Master in Chemistry and Polymers.
  2. Master in Nanoscience.
  3. Master in Theoretical Chemistry and Computational Modelling.